What to Read After Watching The Last Jedi

Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi, the latest installment in the Star Wars saga, released in theaters last week. The literary world of Star Wars is just as exciting as the movies, with books for all ages and all fans. Today we’re taking a look at five fantastic new books that have been published this year. Check them out if you want to continue your Star Wars adventures beyond the big screen! 


Everyone’s favorite Jedi is back! Luke Skywalker returns to the big screen in Star Wars: The Last Jedi, and you can also read about him in The Legends of Luke Skywalker by Ken Liu. This book is a collection of short stories, myths, and legends written by an award-winning author. You can find a copy in the Teen Collection, or click on the cover below to reserve a copy.  

Cover image for Star Wars : the legends of Luke Skywalker / Ken Liu ; illustrated by J.G. Jones.


Curious about the history of everyone’s favorite princess? Find out how Leia got involved in politics and the rebellion by reading the latest novel by Claudia Gray, Leia: Princess of Alderaan. JCPL has this book in print and eBook format; just click the cover to find a copy or place a hold. This book is located in the Teen Collection. 

Cover image for Leia, Princess of Alderaan / written by Claudia Gray.


Want to know more about porgs? Look no further than Chewie and the Porgs, a children’s book about the galaxy’s favorite wookiee and his feathery friends. Porgs are in high demand these days! You’ll have to place a hold on this title, so click the cover below or give us a call to reserve your copy. 

Cover image for STAR WARS - THE LAST JEDI CHEWIE AND THE PORGS.


Curious about the chrome-plated leader of the First Order, Captain Phasma? Continue your journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi by discovering the mysteries of Phasma in this newest title by Delilah S. Dawson. While Dawson is famous for her juvenile series, Phasma is an adult science fiction title and may be not be appropriate for younger readers. However, the book is very popular with our adult patrons, and you will most likely need to reserve a copy if you want to read it soon.


Cover image for Phasma / Delilah S. Dawson.


If you just can’t get enough Star Wars in your galaxy, check out From a Certain Point of View, a collection of short stories by award-winning and bestselling authors like Beth Revis, Gary D. Schmidt, Chuck Wendig, And Wil Wheaton. The collection has 40 never-before-seen stories to celebrate 40 years of Star Wars, featuring characters such as Biggs Darklighter, Grand Moff Tarkin, and Luke’s Aunt Beru. Just click the cover to reserve a copy. 

Cover image for Star Wars : from a certain point of view.